Regional Road Race Championship Results

June 8, 2016 Comments Off

A great day of racing saw action packed racing in all of the three races. The first race of the day was won by Rob Watkinson of Doncaster Wheelers. Rob broke clear with 3 laps to go and rode home solo after dropping Steve Colloby, All Terrain Cycles Ride in Peace. Colloby held on for second whilst Stephen Ellis, Out of the Saddle broke clear of the bunch on the final lap and was joined by Richard Moore Squadra RT who soon forged out a sizeable gap. Ellis was too strong for Moore and pulled clear in the final kilometre to claim the final podium place.

In the women’s race Rebecca Womersley, Drops Cycling Team was a class above and rode 3 laps solo to win be over 2 minutes. Stephanie Mottram, also broke clear of the depleted bunch and rode a fine race to claim second and the silver medal. Sophie Thackray, SunSport Velo was first junior and third overall.

The elite race saw 53 riders go to battle over 10 laps in very hot conditions. First to draw clear was Thomas Travis-Pollard, Metaltek Kuota RT. Travis-Pollard soon forged out a 50 second gap but his efforts were brought back when a group of 9 riders came together with 6 laps to go. The pace was high from the start and lots of riders were forced to withdraw on the testing Upper Denby circuit. With 4 laps to go, Jake Tanner, Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield and Ryan Davis, attacked and had a gap of around 45 seconds until Connor Swift, Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield jumped across the gap to make it a trio of riders going for the win. On the final lap Swift attacked up the climb leaving Tanner and Davis well behind. As this was happening, Alex Dalton, Wold Top Actif RT made a fantastic effort to bridge the gap to Tanner and Davis. These three were left to battle for the silver and bronze medals as Swift was now over 1:30 up the road. Swift was a worthy winner and Dalton easily sprinted for second place with Davis beating Tanner to claim the final podium place. The bunch sprint would see father of Jake, John Tanner claim 5th place with David Shackleton, Wilsons Wheels RT in 6th.


1 Robert Watkinson Doncaster Wheelers
2 Steve Colloby All Terrain Cycles Ride in Peace
3 Stephen Ellis Out of the Saddle
4 Richard Moore Squadra RT
5 Richard Binks VCUK PH-Mas Cycling Team
6 Jamie Biurgan Langsett Cycles RT
7 Lee Brown Holmfirth Cycling Club
8 Paul Dixon VS Cycles, Brighouse
9 Glen Turnbull Patron
10 Andrew Sedgewick Langsett Cycles RT
11 Tim Hutchinson Alba Rosa Cyling Club
12 Stefan Macina Aurelius Cycles
13 Stephen Bottomley Crosstrax
14 Alastair Rees Holmfirth Cycling Club
15 Ian Davenport Out of the Saddle
16 Matthew Mannakee Prologue Racing Team
17 Mike Firth Ilkely Cycling Club
18 Stephen Gibson Peak Road Club
19 Tim Tharratt Squadra RT
20 Lee Morley Ilkely Cycling Club
21 Richard Siddle Unattached
22 Doug Hart Ilkely Cycling Club
23 Colin Williams KTM Impsport RT
24 David Micklethwaite 3RT
25 Paul Hickman Malton Wheelers Road Club
26 Simon West Acre Racing Team
27 Arthur Wilson Ilkley Cycling Club



1 Rebecca Womersley Drops Cycling Team
2 Stephanie Mottram Unattached
3 Sophie Thackray SunSport Velo
4 Nikola Matthews Boot Out Breast Cancer CC Squadra
5 Rebecca Longthorp Cliff Pratt Racing
6 Evgenia Ilyinskaya Team
7 Hannah Riechert Alba Rosa Cycling Club
8 Lindsay Atkinson-Wright Alba Rosa Cycling Club
9 Melissa Greaves Team Ph Mas Cycling
10 Nicola Moore Squadra RT
11 Elizabeth Burrows Team Jadan-Weldtite
12 Lauren O’Brien University of Birmingham CC Team
13 Louise Scupham Team Jadan
14 Sarah Cramoysan Team
15 Amy Cowton Pedalsport Cycling Club



Elite Men
1 Connor Swift Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield
2 Alex Dalton Wold Top Actif RT
3 Ryan Davis Unatatched
4 Jake Tanner Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield
5 John Tanner Unatatched
6 David Shackleton Wilsons Wheels RT
7 Kit Gilham Unatatched
8 Thomas Traviss-Pollard Metaltek Kuota RT
9 Joseph Elwood Langsett Cycles
10 Billy Robinson Squadra RT
11 Edward McParland All terrain Cycles Ride in Peace
12 Shaun Dalby Birdwell Wheelers
13 Julian Pearce FTR
14 Billy Harding Oldfield Paul Milnes
15 Michael Harris HD Revolutions (HDR)
16 Daniel Posnett Squadra RT
17 Dean Watson Prologue RT

Riders outside the time limit:

18 Jonathan Harvey Doncaster Wheelers @ 3 laps
19 Stephen Paterson Doncaster Wheelers @ 3 laps
20 Joshua Ruddiman HD revolutions (HDR) @ 3 laps
21 Liam Gilpin Bike Box Alan @ 3 laps
22 Andrew Ashton Alba Rosa @ 3 laps
23 Richard Middleton Batley CC @ 3 laps


Related Posts

Comments are closed.