Yorkshire Shine at Annual British Cycling Awards

February 6, 2012 Comments Off

The Yorkshire Region were well represented at The British Cycling Annual Awards, sponsored by Leigh Day & Co which returned to Birmingham’s Hilton Metropole Hotel for 2012. Over 500 people gathered to celebrate the continued growth and success of the sport with recognition for volunteers and both national and world champions.

Award winners with Bob Howden: Jake Womersley, Abby-Mae Parkinson, Melissa Lowther, Ollie Wood, Leon Gledhill and Marc Etches.

First up on stage were the Yorkshire Youth Team; winners of the 2011 Inter Regional Road Championships. Ollie Wood, Melissa Lowther, Lauren O’Brien, Leon Gledhill, Abby-Mae Parkinson, Jake Womersley and Amira Mellor were each presented with their award on stage by former world downhill mountain bike champion Tracy Moseley.

Yorkshire riders dominated the National Youth A Circuit Race Series in 2011 with Ollie Wood and Melissa Lowther both Champions in their own right. Ollie went on to collect a third award as he was the 2011 Youth A Scratch Race Track Champion. Abby-Mae Parkinson also received a second award as she was crowned 2012 National Cyclocross Champion.

Winners in the Volunteers section were Marc Etches, Stuart Wallace and Ian Obrien.

Marc Etches collected his award for his work as a Club Official at Sheffrec CC one of the Regions fastest growing and most active clubs.

Stuart Wallace of the National Escort Group (NEG) collected his award for work as an Event Official and in particular his work as Regional Co-ordinator of the National Escort Group.

Ian Obrien was awarded his volunteer award for work as a Club Coach, where he divides his time between the Wakefield Junior Triathlon Club and his wider work at Regional level with our young riders.

Well done to everyone.

Click here to link to the main British Cycling webpage.

Related Posts

Comments are closed.